Skip to content
AI Receptionist Prices

Pricing Guide

How Much Does an AI Receptionist Cost? A Monthly-Bill Walkthrough

What an AI receptionist costs per month at 50, 150, 500 and 1,000 calls, worked against the verified plans of Torklio, Dialzara, Rosie, Frontdesk, Goodcall and Smith.ai, plus the hidden line items to check before you sign.

By Pricing Desk

Last updated

9 min read

Disclosure: This website may receive compensation from companies mentioned on this page. The publisher may also have an ownership or financial relationship with certain featured providers. These relationships do not change our stated evaluation methodology. The publisher of this website has a financial interest in Torklio. Read the full disclosure.

The honest answer to "how much does an AI receptionist cost" is a range that depends on your call volume, and the honest way to give it is to work the bill at several volumes using prices that have been checked. That is what this walkthrough does. We take four call volumes, convert them to minutes, and place each against the published plans of six providers. Where the arithmetic cannot be completed, because a vendor does not publish an overage rate, we say so instead of filling the gap.

Step one: convert calls into minutes

Most packaged receptionists bill by the minute, so a call count has to become a minute count. We use 3 minutes per call as the working average because it sits in the middle of what a short message-taking call and a longer intake conversation tend to run; your own logs may say otherwise, and if they do, use your number. At 3 minutes:

  • 50 calls a month is 150 minutes: a solo operator or a very quiet office.
  • 150 calls a month is 450 minutes: a typical single-location service business.
  • 500 calls a month is 1,500 minutes: a busy shop or a business with several crews.
  • 1,000 calls a month is 3,000 minutes: multi-location or high-volume intake.

These are also the four preset volumes in the cost calculator, so you can re-run the same math with a different average call length.

Step two: the cheapest plan that covers each volume

The rule for a flat-minute plan is simple: choose the cheapest tier whose allowance covers your minutes, or, where the vendor publishes an overage rate, the cheaper of that tier and the one below it plus overage. Goodcall is different: minutes are unlimited, so the question is how many unique customers you serve, not how long they talk. The table assumes one Goodcall agent and, for the customer meter, the worst case where every caller is a different customer.

Monthly bill by call volume, 3-minute average call, verified plans (2026-09-07)
Calls / min per monthTorklioDialzaraRosieFrontdeskGoodcall (1 agent)
50 / 150Starter $99 (300 min)Pro $99 (220 min); or Lite $29 + 90 × $0.48 = $72.20Professional $49 (250 min; messages only, no transfers)Business-in-a-Box $99 (200 min)Starter $79 (100 customers)
150 / 450Plus $149 (600 min)Plus $199 (500 min); Pro + 230 × $0.45 = $202.50Scale $149 (1,000 min); Professional is 200 min short, no overage published$99 + 250 × $0.25 = $161.50Starter $79, up to $104 if all 150 are new customers; Growth $129 covers 250
500 / 1,500Pro $249 + 500 min at an unpublished rate, or Growth quoteElite $349 + 500 × $0.35 = $524Growth $299 (2,000 min)$99 + 1,300 × $0.25 = $424Growth $129 if 250 or fewer customers; Scale $249 covers 500
1,000 / 3,000Growth (3,000 min), quote-basedElite $349 + 2,000 × $0.35 = $1,049No priced plan covers it; Growth is 2,000 min with no overage published$99 + 2,800 × $0.25 = $799Scale $249 + 500 × $0.50 = $499 if all 1,000 are new; Enterprise custom

Reading across the 150-call row, the typical single-location business pays $79 to $199 depending on the vendor and the meter. Goodcall is lowest if fewer than 100 distinct people call in a month; Rosie and Torklio tie at $149, though Rosie's $149 buys 1,000 minutes to Torklio's 600, and Torklio's $149 includes calendar booking with conflict checks and website chat; Frontdesk lands at $161.50 once the 250-minute overage is added; Dialzara is $199 because its 220-minute Pro tier is too small and the next tier is priced above the rest.

The 500-call row is where unpublished overage bites. Dialzara and Frontdesk can be priced to the dollar, $524 and $424, because their rates are on the page. Torklio's Pro plan is 500 minutes short and its page gives no rate, so the bill is $249 plus an amount we cannot calculate, or a Growth quote; that is exactly the situation where you should ask for the overage rate in writing before signing. Rosie's $299 Growth plan covers 1,500 minutes cleanly and is the lowest fully priced figure at this volume. At 1,000 calls, only Dialzara ($1,049), Frontdesk ($799) and Goodcall (up to $499, if you accept 7-day retention on Starter is gone and you are on Scale) produce a number without a phone call; Torklio's Growth plan matches 3,000 minutes exactly but is quote-based, and Rosie's largest plan stops at 2,000.

Smith.ai: the same volumes priced per call

Smith.ai bills by call, so minutes are irrelevant and the arithmetic changes. Its AI-first plans are Starter $300 for 30 calls ($11.50 per call over), Basic $810 for 90 calls ($10.50 over) and Pro $2,100 for 300 calls ($8.50 over). Appointment scheduling is a $1.50-per-call add-on and each CRM beyond the first is $0.50 per call.

Smith.ai AI-first plans by call volume (2026-09-07)
Calls / monthCheapest plan + overageMonthly billIf every call uses scheduling (+$1.50/call)
50Starter $300 + 20 × $11.50$530$605
150Basic $810 + 60 × $10.50$1,440$1,665
500Pro $2,100 + 200 × $8.50$3,800$4,550
1,000Pro $2,100 + 700 × $8.50, or Enterprise quote$8,050$9,550

At 150 calls Smith.ai costs roughly ten times the flat-minute plans. That is not an error; the price includes access to live human receptionists, which none of the other five provide. A 10% discount applies to a 12-month subscription and there is a 30-day money-back guarantee, but no free trial is listed. If a person on the line is a requirement, this is the price of it; if it is not, per-call billing is the most expensive structure in the category for short, frequent calls.

Developer platforms: cheap minutes, expensive engineers

Retell AI publishes an all-in range of $0.07 to $0.31 per minute, so 450 minutes is $31.50 to $139.50 plus $2 per phone number, and 3,000 minutes is $210 to $930. Vapi charges $0.05 per minute in platform fees ($22.50 at 450 minutes, $150 at 3,000) plus models and telephony at cost, or $0 for models with your own keys. Those are the lowest per-minute figures on this page and the least comparable, because neither includes the developer who builds, tests and maintains the agent. Slang AI and Synthflow do not fit the table at all: Slang is $399 per restaurant location with no minute figures, and Synthflow sells only enterprise contracts from $30,000 a year.

Run the same walkthrough with your own numbers

Monthly call volume

Short message-taking calls run 1–2 minutes; booking calls often run 3–5.

Requirements
Providers

Estimated monthly usage: 450 minutes across 150 calls

Estimates use verified pricing only.

Estimated monthly cost by provider
ProviderPlanEst. monthlyStatusChecked
Vapi$23Estimated
  • Per-minute estimate: base price plus minutes × verified rate.
2026-09-07
Source
Retell AI$32Estimated
  • Per-minute estimate: base price plus minutes × verified rate.
2026-09-07
Source
GoodcallStarter$79Estimated
  • Starter advertises unlimited minutes; check its other usage caps in the plan notes.
2026-09-07
Source
TorklioPlus$149Estimated2026-09-07
Source
RosieScale$149Estimated2026-09-07
Source
FrontdeskBusiness-in-a-Box$162Estimated2026-09-07
Source
DialzaraBusiness Plus$199Estimated2026-09-07
Source
Slang AIPremium$599Estimated2026-09-07
Source
Smith.aiPro$2,100Estimated
  • Per-call plans charge the same for a 30-second call and a 10-minute call; add-ons such as scheduling may be billed per call.
2026-09-07
Source
SynthflowUnavailableQuote required
  • Enterprise contracts from $30,000/year, scoped to volume, concurrency, telephony, integrations, security and launch support.
2026-09-07
Source

Where a provider shows “Insufficient verified pricing information,” no price has been confirmed against the provider’s own pricing page. We do not guess. Estimates exclude taxes, telephony pass-through charges and optional add-ons unless listed in the plan notes.

Step three: check the line items that do not appear in the headline

The monthly plan price is rarely the whole bill. The items below are the places on a pricing page and in a contract where the bill grows. Check each one for every vendor you shortlist and record the answer next to the plan price. Where a provider publishes the figure, it is noted.

  • Setup or onboarding fees. Torklio, Smith.ai, Goodcall, Rosie, Dialzara ("no setup fees"), Frontdesk ("no contracts, no hidden fees"), Retell and Vapi list none. Synthflow's implementation is part of the contract scope; Slang AI does not disclose one.
  • Number porting. Moving your existing business number to the vendor, or out again when you leave, may carry a fee and a waiting period. Ask about both directions.
  • Telephony pass-through. Retell bills telephony at $0.015 a minute and numbers at $2 a month; Vapi bills telephony through your provider. Packaged receptionists include it in the plan.
  • Add-on seats, agents, numbers and locations. Goodcall's price is per agent. Torklio's Pro plan includes 1 number with 2 more available. Slang AI is per location. Retell charges $8 a month per concurrent call above 20; Vapi $10 per line above 10.
  • Per-use add-ons. Smith.ai's scheduling is $1.50 per call and extra CRMs $0.50 per call. Frontdesk's SMS is 4 credits ($0.04) per message. Dialzara's SMS agent is $0.05 per AI message once bundled. Retell's knowledge base adds $0.005 a minute and PII removal $0.01.
  • Overage rate and rounding. Published: Dialzara $0.35–$0.48 per minute, Frontdesk $0.25, Goodcall $0.50 per unique customer, Smith.ai $8.50–$11.50 per call. Unpublished: Torklio, Rosie. Treat an unpublished rate as unknown, not as zero.
  • Retention and storage. Goodcall's Starter keeps call and customer details for 7 days, Growth 30 days, Scale indefinitely. Torklio's plans list 90 days on Starter up to 1 year on Pro. Vapi charges $1,000 a month for zero data retention.
  • Compliance. Vapi's HIPAA add-on is $2,000 a month. Torklio does not accept healthcare or other PHI-handling businesses at all.
  • Trial conversion and annual assumptions. Torklio, Rosie, Dialzara and Frontdesk list 7-day trials; Goodcall a trial of unstated length; Smith.ai none. Goodcall's $66 and Frontdesk's $79 headline figures require annual billing; the monthly prices are $79 and $99.

Step four: weigh the bill against what missed calls cost you

A $79 to $249 monthly line is only expensive or cheap relative to what an unanswered phone costs your business. If you currently miss a meaningful share of inbound calls and even a few of those callers would have booked, the comparison is not between plan tiers but between the plan and the revenue that is not arriving. That calculation needs your own call volume, missed-call rate, conversion rate and job value; it is a different tool from the cost estimator, and it lives on our sister site.

Use the missed-call calculator on Never Miss A Call to put a monthly figure on the calls you are not answering, then compare it with the plan prices above.

How to keep these numbers honest

Every figure above carries a check date of 2026-09-07. Pricing pages change, and Synthflow's is the reminder: it moved from self-serve tiers to enterprise-only contracts, and most roundups still show the old numbers. Before you sign, open the vendor's pricing page and confirm three things: the plan price, the allowance and the overage rate. If the first two match this page and the third is missing, you have found the question to ask. The pricing table shows the check date next to every provider, and the pricing guide explains each billing model.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an AI receptionist cost per month?

On verified plans as of 2026-09-07: entry tiers run from $29 (Dialzara, 60 minutes) and $49 (Rosie, 250 minutes) through $79 (Goodcall, unlimited minutes, 100 customers) to $99 (Torklio 300 minutes; Frontdesk 200 minutes). A typical 150-call month costs $79 to $199 on those providers, $1,440 on Smith.ai's per-call plans, and $399 per location on Slang AI.

How many calls does 300 minutes cover?

About 100 calls at a 3-minute average, or 150 calls at 2 minutes. Measure your own average call length from your phone logs rather than assuming; it decides which tier you land on for Torklio, Dialzara, Rosie and Frontdesk, and does not matter at all on Goodcall.

What happens if I go over my included minutes?

Dialzara charges $0.48, $0.45, $0.40 or $0.35 per minute by tier and Frontdesk $0.25 per minute. Torklio's page states that overages apply but does not publish the rate, and Rosie publishes none; ask both for the figure in writing before you sign. Goodcall has no minute overage but charges $0.50 per unique customer above the plan cap.

Are there setup fees for AI receptionists?

None of the packaged providers we checked lists one: Torklio, Smith.ai, Goodcall, Rosie, Dialzara, Frontdesk, Retell and Vapi all show no setup fee. Synthflow's implementation is bundled into a contract that starts at $30,000 a year. Slang AI does not disclose one.

Is an AI receptionist cheaper than a human answering service?

Yes, by a wide margin at the same volume. Smith.ai, which backs its AI with live receptionists, costs $1,440 for 150 calls on its published per-call plans, against $79 to $199 for the AI-only flat plans in the table above. The difference is the price of having a person available.

How current are these prices?

All were read from each provider's own pricing page on 2026-09-07 and stored with that date. Check the vendor's page before signing if you are reading this later.

Sources

  1. Torklio pricing page (accessed 2026-09-07)
  2. Dialzara pricing page (accessed 2026-09-07)
  3. Rosie pricing page (accessed 2026-09-07)
  4. Frontdesk (My AI Front Desk) pricing page (accessed 2026-09-07)
  5. Goodcall pricing page (accessed 2026-09-07)
  6. Smith.ai pricing page (accessed 2026-09-07)
  7. Retell AI pricing page (accessed 2026-09-07)
  8. Vapi pricing page (accessed 2026-09-07)
  9. Slang AI pricing page (accessed 2026-09-07)
  10. Synthflow pricing page (accessed 2026-09-07)

Pricing Guide· 12 min read

AI Receptionist Pricing in 2026: Every Billing Model Explained

A line-by-line explanation of how AI receptionists bill, with verified worked examples for each model: Torklio and Dialzara flat minutes, Goodcall per-agent unlimited minutes, Smith.ai per call, Retell and Vapi per-minute components, Slang per location and Synthflow enterprise contracts.